Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some beginner questions

Hi,

I'm thinking about getting vbulletin but there are a few things I'd like to know first.

If I want/need to change hosts, will I have to pay all over again for ownership of the board or/and installation of it, because I don't know enough about programming to install the board myself. And will I lose everything on the existing board?

Is it possible to give members unique user titles (not based on the number of posts they've made)? I mean the titles that go under the username on every post they make, not sure if 'title' is the right word for it or not.

Is there a limit to the number of smilies I can add?

Also, if I want to update to the latest edition of vbulletin, will I have to pay for it to be installed all over again?

Basic questions I know, but I'm new to this and appreciate any help I can get. Cheers.
    Last edited by Jolly Oli; Mon 23rd Dec '02, 7:07am.

1. Yes, you can move your forums to a new server without purchasing a new license and without losing your existing data. However we do not provide 'moving' services. The instructions for moving hosts is here:

http://www.vbulletin.com/manual/movingservers.html

2. Yes, you can give unique titles or even allow your members to use custom titles of their choosing.

3. There's no limit on smilies.

4. If you do not want to upgrade yourself, you can purchase our professional upgrade service for $135.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

Thanks very much!

Comment

vBulletin is VERY, VERY easy to install, I am sure you could do it your self :P I dont mind helping people for free if they need it either :P