First timer......

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First timer......

My name is Tim. I am very new to this. I fly flight sims online and have seen vBulliten on both the www.bombs-away.net and www.http://www.hitechcreations.com/ubbframe.html So I have been around them for about 3 yrs. But I am looking to start building my own. I have quite a bit to ask and if you can deal with my "not knowing squat" questions, I would very much apprciate your help. I have been working on a forum at http://pub38.ezboard.com/b81stkrewsaderz which is up in about 8 days. But I am most certainly going to upgrade after that.
    I know nothing about PHP or web hosting. So I could use some help there. I have done a few free website designs IE homestead and AOL, but nothing heavy. How difficult is it to set up for vB and how often are there updates? I know that when our Bombs-away site was being updated it was down anywere from 1-3 days. Is this common? Im sorry for the dumb questions, but I am just curious. Thank you for the help.

Jag

Hi Jag

I'm having a bit of a hard time comprehending what you are saying, but I'll try my best.

First is that you need a host/server that supports MySQL and PHP. Usually when you sign up for hosting, it is best that you ask whether the server supports this. AOL, Geocities do not support this. Homestead, I'm not sure.

Installing vBulletin is a breeze because of an integrated install script. It sets up everything for you.

Updates are not as frequent currently because the vBulletin Team are putting together vBulletin 3 (http://beta.vbulletin.com/vb3) however updates should pick up after the release of vBulletin 3.

Since you are using ezBoard, I'd recommend you not get too comfortable since it is a pain to transfer threads and posts into vBulletin

There are also people who specialize in hosting vBulletin boards. I think the forum vBulletin Hosting Options is what it is (not really sure on that)

Good Luck on your purchase

-J