Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is involved in installing, maintaining and upgrading vB5?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is involved in installing, maintaining and upgrading vB5?

What kind of knowledge is needed to install and upgrade vB5? How bulletproof is the process? Is there a manual that details the steps involved in installing and upgrading? I would prefer a hosted solution, but I'm willing to consider a self-hosted product like vB. I'm just concerned that installation and upgrading might require technical skills I might not have. I have no knowledge of PHP or mySQL, but I have a working knowledge of HTML, CSS and FTP. I have used cPanel before.

Also, what sort of effort is required to maintain vB5 as an admin?

Originally posted by dangerwill View Post
    I have no knowledge of PHP or mySQL, but I have a working knowledge of HTML, CSS and FTP. I have used cPanel before.
    Neither do I but I have been using/testing VB 5 since November. It was like anything new, a little frustrating at first. Then it got worse and after that, it became progressively easier. As far as manuals are concerned, I never want to read them, I just throw myself in there. If there is something I really need to know, I come here for the answer.
    Invariably does the trick for me.

That I guess is down to the user and how much time they put in. There are various tools available to help make the process less of a chore.

Comment

We do offer a professional installation service (for an additional fee) if you don't want to worry about installing.

Comment