Complete newby please help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Complete newby please help

Hi there, I want to start an online community and think I will go with V-Bulletin for the forum software. However, I have no idea where to start.... I take it I register my domain name and then find a hosting company to host the domain name? Then how do I get V-Bulletin to work from there? Will I need to build up a whole website or this forum software will pretty much be the basis of my site (not sure if that makes any sense) I guess what im trying to say is for example bodybuilding.com uses V-Bulletin when I go to that address is all of that achievable through the forum software? Also I am in Australia does this mean I will need to find an Australian hosting company? Also my understanding is that the latest version of v-bulletin is is testing mode is this correct? for example I purchase version 5 which comes with version 4 so do I just use version 4? Like I said I am completely new and in way over my head but am willing to learn as I want to build this online community!

Originally posted by Aussie_Lad View Post
    Hi there, I want to start an online community and think I will go with V-Bulletin for the forum software. However, I have no idea where to start.... I take it I register my domain name and then find a hosting company to host the domain name?
    Correct. A site like WebHostingTalk.com can recommend you a decent host for $8-12 a month just to get started. Avoid 1&1 and GoDaddy.
    Then how do I get V-Bulletin to work from there? Will I need to build up a whole website or this forum software will pretty much be the basis of my site (not sure if that makes any sense)
    You can just install the forum software and use that as your site. Later on, if it becomes really important, you could add a front page.