Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Community input - take whole site to vBCMS?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Community input - take whole site to vBCMS?

Dear vB community,
    I run a small non-profit site dedicated to a rare kidney stone disease (www.cystinuria.org). We are very community-centric, but currently support only ~ 450 members. We have been using vBulletin as our forum software faithfully since 2002. I will certainly be upgrading the forum software to 4.0, but i'm wondering if i shouldn't consider taking the entire site (which i currently design) and moving it to a CMS. Our entire online presence consists of announcements, articles, and videos (all of which seem well suited for a CMS). However, we do not generate these very quickly - perhaps quarterly updates (maybe with a CMS we'd update more)? Honestly, i'm a web designer who is not all that familiar with CMS. I would sincerely appreciate it if some good folks from this community wouldn't mind sharing their opinions on whether our site would be a good candidate for a complete CMS overhaul/solution, or whether you feel that it would be dramatically overboard for our small community and light content.
    Thanks so much, in advance.
    Kind Regards,
    matt
    www.cystinuria.org
    www.cystinuria.org/forums

It looks like vB CMS would fit your site perfectly. However, there are some issues with the vB CMS at the moment as it's in its first release.

1. vB CMS is not placed in the root natively.
    2. vB4 won't display right in IE6. I imagine many of your members are middle aged people who might be still using old computers.
    3. vB CMS has high amount of db queries. Some say it's bad, others say it's not that critical under new vB structure.
    4. I read here about some troubles with CMS's seach function.

I have no doubt things will be sorted out. But if I were you I would wait till vB4.1 or vB4.2 released.