Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prospective Buyer for vBulletin

Hello guys,

I am considering opening a forum and vBulletin, seems to be the optimal software.

If I purchase a new vB 4.0 suite, I will have access to the 3.8.4 until the new 4.0 comes out.

Originally posted by Steve Machol View Post
    vB4 is not available yet which is why this is a Pre-sale. If you purchase now you would be able to download and install vB 3.8.4.

One thing to keep in mind is that the styles and template system was completely updated for vB4 so any customizations you have for earlier versions of vB will not work in vB4 and will need to be updated.
    Also, it was pointed out that the styles from 3.8.4 will not update to vB4, therefore it is useless for me to optimize a forum with 3.8.4 if everything will require rework. (please correct me if I understood this incorrectly)

Note: Since I have no experience with vBulletin software, is it possible for me to learn how to use the 3.8.4 and apply my learning when vB4.0 is out? I have not registered a domain for my website, and I have not registered with a host, but can I still play around the vbulletin software to learn how to set up the forum? like setting up topics, headings, colors, backgrounds and such??

Thanks in Advance,

Yes, my statement is correct regarding the styles. And yes, installing and using vB 3.8.4 will help you with understanding vB4.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

Thank you for the quick reply,