purchasing an existing forum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• purchasing an existing forum

I'm purchasing an existing forum that is running 3.8.1. I also have purchased a new domain that I plan to use the forum on. The license on the existing forum is up for renewal. What is the best way to proceed?

Should I purchase a new license and install the latest version of vbulletin on the new site then import the database into the new forum?

Or would I be better off renewing the license on the existing site, performing the upgrade to 3.8.4 then moving the entire site to the new domain?

Or should I move the site as is and not worry about updating to the latest version?

Or is there another way that would be better?

I noticed that a new version of vbulletin is expected soon? Should I wait it out to do anything then purchase when the new version is available?

I'm very new to all this...so any tips would be appreciated.

Originally posted by jimsflies View Post
    I noticed that a new version of vbulletin is expected soon? Should I wait it out to do anything then purchase when the new version is available?
    Do you like vB? If you do then buy it now from Jelsoft.
    The time of availability of the new version for the public is unknown.
    Could be months,could be next year.
    The contract you sign with them is for now,not for next year.
    "Lord,give us our daily bread,today" Not tomorrow.We don't know tomorrow.

vB5 is unequivocally the best forum software, but not yet...

Comment

Yeah...but my first few questions were more of my immediate concern. If I install a new version of vbulletin 3.8.4 on the new site, can I just import the d-base from the old site which is running 3.8.1? Is this the best/easiest way to proceed? I'm looking for the recommended way to move an existing site and bring it to the latest/greatest version of vbulletin.

Comment