Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Integration with existing site (plugins/hooks)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Integration with existing site (plugins/hooks)

I currently operate a website that is built around phpbb3, and one of the key things I had planned to do with it was embed non-forum data about each user into the side (or top) author section of each post. One thing I wanted to know before making a decision to switch to vBulletin is how difficult this might be using the hooks/plugin system vb utilizes.

More specifically, I operate a site that hosts several games, and its user system is shared with the one phpbb3 uses - I'm a programmer so it wasn't that hard to tie them together. I would prefer that along with a user's avatar, total posts, user rank, etc. I could display info about their game activity above (or to the side) of each post. If I could, for instance, develop a plugin that takes each poser's id in a thread view, grabs data from non-forum tables, and then embeds it into the view-post template, that would be a huge bonus to vBulletin.

For placing things within a post, you can try out the admin demo. You can use HTML and whatnot to test out whatever you'd like to do. The template is postbit.

It's not that hard to make plugins/hooks and external/new vBulletin pages. It's all fairly simple. It's just php code that was eval()'d to parse.

Comment

So are you saying you can place php code directly into a template?

For example, I could put the php code (actually pseudo-code) below into the postbit template:

PHP Code:
      <?php
      $query 
      "SELECT something FROM non-Vb-table WHERE userID = $vB_poster_id";
      $result db_query($query);

list(
      $some_data) = db_fetch_row($result);
      echo 
      "$some_data";
      ?>

Comment

You cannot put it in the postbit template. (Without a modification to do so, that is.)