Comments, tips on converting from SMF

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Comments, tips on converting from SMF

If possible, I'd like to hear from those who have successfully converted their databases from Simple Machines Forums (SMF) to vBulletin.

My forum has been online since 2002. However, it crashed (probably due to something on my end) while I was trying to upgrade the phpBB software that I was running at the time. Since I had to start over anyhow, I decided to change softwares, and installed SMF, which I've been running for the about four years now.

I'm not entirely unhappy with SMF but I'd like to move to something that has better support and fewer quirks, as it seems that the larger my forum gets, the more trouble I have with SMF.

I'm thinking that vBulletin might be what I'm looking for, but I'd very much like to not have to start over, as far as membership and forum history goes.

I know that vBulletin has a conversion utility that is supposed to do that with SMF, only I'm running a minor upgrade above that which it lists, since I'm running SMF 1.1.6. I'm not thinking that will make much of a difference, since it was not a major upgrade by any means.

If you have converted from SMF to vBulletin, I'd be interested in hearing about your experiences, and perhaps a few tips.

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=138594

Comment

Thanks, if I were still running phpBB, I might get some insight from that thread but I went through seven pages and found only one person who migrated from SMF, and that wasn't very informative. If posting here was the wrong thing to do, I apologize; but I can't think of a more important pre-sales question than trying to find out if it's likely to work before I pay for it, rather than finding that out later. Plus, if the support here is no better than at SMF, perhaps I should stay with the free stuff.

Comment