Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to "this" AKA Forum Set-Up for Dummies

Hi there,

Currently, I am working on starting my own forum for work. It will be specific to our company, and I am going to create sub-forums for the different projects that I am working on. (I am a projects manager, not an IT person). I did try out the demo here, and loved it!

Now the hard part is getting this forum up and running... especially since I have never done it before and know very little about starting a forum. So, this is very much... "Forum Set-Up for Dummies"

However, I went to our IT department, and they said that they didn't want to host this forum because it was MySQL, and they don't know enough about it. (I don't even know what MySQL is). I see that you offer installation: http://www.vbulletin.com/product_detail.php?full=1

If you come and install it, is there any maintenance required that we would need? (Because even if it gets installed properally, we still don't have anyone within our company that knows what MySQL is)

But I know there are "work-arounds", like having an outside company host this...

I asked my friends, and they gave me several suggestions on web-hosts:
    www.hostdepartment.com
    www.mediatemple.com

So- at this point here are my questions:

What do I need to do FIRST to get my forum up and running? (I assume it's getting the Web-Host first...)

Once we purchase vBulletin, we can edit it however we'd like- correct? (change the forum name, etc)

Once we purchase vBulletin software, it's ours for life, right? It's not like a subscription where we have to "renew" each year, is it?

What happens if we decide we don't want to web-host anymore? What happens to the forum? What if we decide to pick back up again?

What happens if we decide we *do* want to host it internally (like our IT department learns MySQL?)

Lots of questions, I know... sorry if they seem simple