Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm a newbie and need detailed help from start to finish.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a newbie and need detailed help from start to finish.

Hi guys, I'm sure this has been asked a million times and I'm sure it must be getting old...

Anyhow, I'm set to buy but before I do, I need to make sure that I get all the right stuff.

I found vbulletin from a forum that I frequent and I thought it was soooo cool!

Anyhow.

1). Purchase Hostican $6.95 ;
    200,000 MB (200 GB)
    Number of Domains

Special Offer

Monthly Bandwidth

E-Commerce

2) download a php. (free?) could you provide me a link of exactly what I need to download?

3) I downloaded a mySQL for free... but I am not sure if it's anygood. It won't open up. Could you provide me a link. (found it on google)

4) try the 24hr free demo of Vbulletin

5) Purchase one license Vbulletin lease, setup and enjoy.

Is that all?

Thanks in advance

1.) Your hosting package. It looks as if you are going for a reseller package. Do you really need that much space? If your website is just starting out, get a regular shared hosting account ($6-$14/month). Do NOT and I repeat do not go for the cheapest package with the largest amount of space and goodies.

Many hosting companies oversell webspace. They offer loads more space and sometimes even "unlimited" bandwidth. What most don't realize is that before you might even reach 1/4 of that space or bandwidth, they will shut you down. Why? Because if you are using up that much, then you will be using up "CPU power." In other words, your website will be hogging up all of the server's resources. I recommend you search for a hosting on sites such as WHT (Web Hosting Talk). Don't buy a whole office complex if you only need an office right now.

There is a thread on the forums for vBulletin hosting options. The thread is here.