Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pre-Sale questions (From basic - complex (for me))

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pre-Sale questions (From basic - complex (for me))

Hello all,
    As you can probably see from when I became a member I became interested in using vbulletin back in 2004. For many reasons I didn't go foward with my ideas but now I am finally set & able to give it a try. I am extremely interested in buying vbulletin in the near future but I have several questions I hope can be answered here before I purchase the product. I would like to make it VERY CLEAR that when it comes to building sites, programming, etc. I am a COMPLETE NOVICE. I believe I have a cool idea and I am willing to learn. I apologize in advance if some questions are really basic. Ok here come the questions…
    1) First off I will be working on an apple computer. I noticed the manual is set in windows and was wondering if there will be any difficulty or differences working on a mac?
    2) I already bought the domain. What are the correct procedure for setting up the forum? I want to build a main page and a few other pages? Can that be done anywhere else then uploaded after? I guess the question is where does this all come together? Is there a backdoor login through my site that I load vbulletin and put it all together? (I know this might sound dumb but I literally have no idea how to build a site)
    3) I know I need to pick a host & I know they need PHP & MySQL but is there an estimate on the amount of space I will need and any other features I should look for? Any suggestions on a host?
    4) I see a ton of site that offer Vbulletin services from skins to actually implementing everything for you. I came across xeonext.com, which has a plethora of services. Has anyone used this site or something like it and do your recommend using them or another service. I guess the question boils down to how hard is setup, customization, & implantation?