Please Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please Help

I have a message board at proboards right now and would like to graduate to vbulletin. I am wondering since I do not have computer programming skills, should a beginner like myself even dare venture into setting up a vbulletin board? I know I need to register a domain name along with findng a host but I am not experienced in this kind of thing. I have done alot of reading on this board and other boards but when it comes to all the computer tech talk, I'm really lost . Any suggestions, ideas for a novice?

Setting up a Vbulletin forum is quite easy, even for the beginner. No programming skills are required, just follow the easy to read instructions and you will be up and running in less than 10 minutes.

The only part of the file you will need to configure would be the Configuration file, which would require your database name, user name and password for that database.

Comment

If that is all I have to do then I should not have any trouble. But I'm not sure about the hosting part. I don't know how much space I would need. I have a makeup board and we post alot of pics, so I am assuming that alone will use alot of space. I feel like a complete idiot asking questions like this but I just don't want to mess up.

Comment

It is not easy to predict the amount of space you will need. Obviously attachments are very likely to take up a lot more space then posts.
        Want to take your board beyond the standard vBulletin features?
        Visit the official Member to Member support site for vBulletin Modifications: www.vbulletin.org

Comment

Right now I have 130 members with over 17,600 posts since April. It probably would become more active if it were user friendly and if you could find it by googling it. I don't know what to start off with or what host to use for this size of board. I need some input if anyone would care to help me out.

Comment