initial server requirements/server testing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• initial server requirements/server testing

Hi there. Im VERY new to this so I apologize in advance if this is a stupid quesiton. I browsed the faq's and the forums for a while but cant quite seem to find what Im looking for.

I wanted to make a board and Ive been memebers of boards that use vbulletin so I decided to go that route since I like it.
    I installed a server (windows 2003 Server), and today installed the latest php and mysql. I think. Again, Im a unix/cisco person not an MS/php/sql person!

Everything seemed to go according to plan, but I downloaded the vb_test.php script and now I have no idea in the world what to do with it.
    How do I know my server is configured correctly? Php ok? Mysql ok? Im completely in the dark. If there were a doc out there that could walk me through it like I was 2 years old, it would be great

Thank you a ton for your help in advance.
    bob

You run it from your browser, i.e.,

http://www.yoursite.com/vb_test.php
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

If you are more of a unix person consider running vBulletin on a unix platform with php / mysql.

You drop the script into the location that IIS wants your documents to go and then just execute it via the browser as Steve has said.
      Scott MacVicar

My Blog | Twitter

Comment

Thanks steve.. I guess I failed miserably somewhere then. When I throw it into my document root directory I get the generic:
        he page cannot be found

The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable. Please try the following: