Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Several pre-move transition questions. Any help greatly appreciated.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Several pre-move transition questions. Any help greatly appreciated.

I am thinkin' about moving my ezBoard to vBulletin. Too many reasons to list in one thread.

Although I've had my community for several years and several million posts, it's at ez, so this vBulletin is all new to me, and quite frankly, I feel that I'm pretty ill-prepared and over my head. I LOVE the features and functionality, but it's pretty overwhelming.

That being said, I'm a total newb and frankly, not very proficient with much of this.

Is it possible to have my forums and the posts that exist within them pulled in to my new vBulletin site?

Is it possible to have my members pulled in as well? How far does that go regarding their profiles, histort etc?

If both are possible, can they be "copied" rather than being transferred in order that my existing community at ez is untouched while I'm creating and setting up my new one?

Also, is this something I'm entirely responsible for learning to do and doing on my own, or does V offer this as support?
    I was told by the sales rep that I would need to download the software and "prepare it" then upload it to my web host. What does it mean to "prepare" my files?

At ez you just creat it online, so there is really nothing to download, upload or prepare, so this is all way over my head at this point.

Lastly, I was poking around the admin demo and didn't see where I could change my "New Thread" and "Add Reply" buttons to custom ones I've created. Where would I find that?

Thank you in advance for any and all assistance.
    Last edited by deadhook; Tue 4 Apr '06, 8:23pm. Reason: add'k info

We do have an ezboard harvester. It will only bring over posts and threads. Since we have no other access to ezboard but being able to view the site. Members need to re-registered.