Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

total newbie question - can I do this myself?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• total newbie question - can I do this myself?

Hi,

My apologies in advance if this is a silly question....

I have a site in mind that I would like to start with its main focus/feature being the forums section. From the research that I've done you guys seem to have the best (paid) software around so I've decided to use vBulletin. However, I wanted to know the following before purchasing:
    While I work as a Systems Administrator full time I know next to nothing when it comes to web design (i know basic HTML if that counts for anything) or programming in general for that matter. So my question is: is there any chance that I'd be able to set up & customize vBulletin on my own (obviously with a lot of help from the support forum and I would consider even 1 month of phone support)? Or is this something I'd have to give to web designer?
    I would really like to try and do this myself 1. for the experience & knowlege & 2. to potentially save some $$.

TIA.

Yep, with just little HTML knowledge you can easily update the design and colors, etc.

Check out our admin demo and see for yourself before you purchase.

http://www.vBulletin.com/admindemo

http://www.vBulletin.com/docs/html

Comment

Thanks Floris.

2 more questions -
      1 -I keep reading about "hacks" or modifications that can be downloaded at vBulletin.org. Do I need a background in programming for those?

2 - the hosting plan I'm looking at is offering 25 MySQL databases at 100MB each. Is that enough? Or rather, if my database fills up 1 of those 100MB databases, any idea if it'll just roll over to the next one? The hosting service is at www.1and1.com.

thanks.
      Last edited by abneb217; Mon 27 Mar '06, 4:15pm.

Comment

1. That depends on the hack or plugin. Some are easier to install than others.