Please, I am a complete beginner but want to learn

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please, I am a complete beginner but want to learn

I would love to create a poetry site using vbulletin. the first part would be easy it seems, purchasing a license and paying vbulletin to provide professional help to get the software in place.

My problem comes with the next bit:

I have zero experience with web providers. I only have a simple free website at the moment and have only just dabbled in html.

I desperately need some simple plain English advice on a step-by-step basis on how to go about the web provider part. i.e. What do I need to do BEFORE I purchase vbulletin.

Please... Can anyone help me?

Welcome. I have a poetry forum on my vBulletin site. Take a look: http://www.sourbee.co.uk/beehive

You need to register before you can view the poetry forum though, which is why it looks empty.

Regarding a web provider, you'll need something with a bit more 'oopmh' than the free webspace you're using at the moment. You'll need a web provider that supports MySQL and PHP. The provider I and many other vBulletin users will recommend are A Small Orange. If you need a domain name for your site you can also register this with Small Orange.

After that, it's a just case of paying for vBulletin, downloading it and uploading it to your new webspace. Then you can start setting up your forum.

Comment

I would also like to throw in a plug for www.site5.com I've had nothing but outstanding support from them.

Once you get the host, the rest is pie. just buy, download, and upload the vB software.

Comment

Originally posted by .oO neil Oo.