SMF to vBulletin: Some questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SMF to vBulletin: Some questions

Hello to all, this is my first post here...
    I currently have SMF at my site and I am thinking of moving to vBulletin as it has always been something I dreamed
    I am quite sceptical though, considering the fact that I'm a university student so my monthly income is not much and I already have to pay for the hosting.
    Here are my questions:
    1. I ran the vb_test.php and it it reads pass to everything exept for safe_mode and magic_quotes_gpc. What should I do? I don't want to pay such a big (for me) amount of money and not have the full functionality of vBulletin!
    2. I am using Windows-1253 encoding on my site (I'm greek you see...). Will I have any problems with that?
    3. I assume it's legal to make changes at the code after I buy it but I would like an extra assurance from somebody who knows better.
    4. In my current SMF board I have enabled a choice wich displays the last 20 posts at the forum homepage. Is this possible with vB? Because the only vB sites I have seen either don't use such a thing or have only a much uglier one with five last threads, not posts...
    5. Will it be easy for me to make a similar theme to my current one so that it matches? I am using a variation of the YaBB classic theme for SMF.
    6. Ok, lets assume I paid all this money. Should I pay also for modifications or themes that I find on the web or most of them are free for licensed customers?
    7. I'm a little confused with the price. I want to buy a vB version for ever (not for just one year) and one month of phone support maybe. How much should I pay? Notice that I live in Europe and specifically in Greece.
    8. Is it easy to add Karma in vB? In SMF it's a standard feature and my members are very fond of it.
    I hope the answers to all these questions are easy because I really really want to put vB on my site.
    Thank you all in advance.