Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

what do I need to download and open vBulletin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what do I need to download and open vBulletin?

I havent bought Vbulletin yet. I need to know what software I will need on my PC so that I can dowload it, open the file, and run the software. I have XP home. In the past I have downloaded files and when I try to open the file I get a window that says "Windows cannot open this file, Windows needs to know what program created it". ----I'm not a computer expert, so i'll get stumped if this happens.

What will I need?

THANKS !!!

Just a ZIP program like Winzip, and a good PHP editor....notepad will suffice, but there's other programs like crimson editor.
    ManagerJosh, Owner of 4 XenForo Licenses, 1 vBulletin Legacy License, 1 Internet Brands Suite License
    Director, WorldSims.org | Gaming Hosting Administrator, SimGames.net, Urban Online Entertainment

Comment

Originally posted by soimcrazy
      I havent bought Vbulletin yet. I need to know what software I will need on my PC so that I can dowload it, open the file, and run the software. I have XP home. In the past I have downloaded files and when I try to open the file I get a window that says "Windows cannot open this file, Windows needs to know what program created it". ----I'm not a computer expert, so i'll get stumped if this happens.

What will I need?

THANKS !!!
      vBulletin is not a program that normally runs on your pc, to run vBulletin you will need a web host who supports php 4.1.0 or higher and mysql 3.23.33 or higher as well.

php files are just text files. So you can open and edit them with any text editor. But to make them run like they do here you need a webserver capable of using php

Comment

Originally posted by Zachery
        vBulletin is not a program that normally runs on your pc, to run vBulletin you will need a web host who supports php 4.1.0 or higher and mysql 3.23.33 or higher as well.