White Hell: The Failed Upgrade from 3.6.10 to 3.7.0

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• White Hell: The Failed Upgrade from 3.6.10 to 3.7.0

I posted this in the wrong forum thread so I decided to move it here to get some better attention.

I am new to VB and I have a problem when I upgraded from 3.6.10 to 3.7.0. Zachary has been trying to asynchronously help me but since there is a 10 hour time difference between us I was hoping to speed things up a bit.

I have a vB forum with a blog and photopost gallery installed. Everything was going well until the upgrade. As far as I could tell the upgrade to 3.7.0 went smoothly even though it was a long process going from all the beta versions and release candidates to reach the final stage. During the final stage I got to the login screen but after that the page was white. Nothing on the forum worked anymore. I tried using tools.php and everything there seems to work - no errors. I even transferred the old config.php info over to the new config.php

No changes have been made to my server (httpd or mysql or php). These are all the latest versions.

I have tried multiple uploads and re-upgrading and have the same problem again and again. I myself, have been considering doing a clean re-install as discussed here so I wonder if the process described here would actually work:
    1.) backup the current database (done)
    2.) do a clean install (essentially deleting all data?)
    3.) reload the data from the backup database.

I need a solution since I put about 2 weeks of work into building the site to make it a community and I hate to do all that work again and try to ask the people to re-register.