Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Downgrade?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Downgrade?

    Hi I'm running 3.7.2 right now and would like to go back to 3.6.10
    I am thinking I would just do a SQL database dump then remove the 3.7.x files and install 3.6.10 then just import the dump.

    Am I right or would I have to do something else?

  • #2
    There is no way to downgrade.

    Comment


    • #3
      And no, the way you have suggested would still be using the 3.7 database structure, and the forum will probably be broken because of using the wrong files.

      Comment


      • #4
        Well if you backed up your database before you upgraded. (which you should do)

        You could delete 3.7.2, re-install 3.6.10, delete your database, the remake it with the old backup.

        If you did not back up before the upgrade you are SOL.

        Comment


        • #5
          However you would obviously lose any posts etc since the upgrade.

          Comment


          • #6
            You cannot downgrade. The only option would be to revert to a backup from before you upgraded.
            Kerry-Anne :)

            Twitter Blog

            www.peterska2.com www.worldnewszone.com www.popularusenetgroups.com www.superclickers.co.uk www.forumsforchrist.com www.browsergameplanet.com

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by Anti-QJ View Post
              Hi I'm running 3.7.2 right now and would like to go back to 3.6.10
              Why do you wish to downgrade? I'm debating upgrading to 3.7, although there's no pressing reason to do so.

              Comment


              • #8
                Some people are not happy with some of the new features or have no use for them. I also believe some people don't like the new MEMBERINFO templates.

                But at the end of the day, the benefits still outweigh the "bad" points. You can disable the stuff you don't need and the MEMBERINFO changes don't take long to get used to.

                And yeah, you can't really go back because there were quite a few DB changes made when you upgraded.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Most, if not ALL of the "social networking' features in 3.7 can be turned off/disabled. So there is really no real reason why you should downgrade, on a side note, there is no real way to downgrade...

                  Comment

                  widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                  Working...
                  X