Welcome announcement vanished

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welcome announcement vanished

I'm a newbie here so forgive me if this is dumb...

I've just done a complete reinstall of VB367 and the welcome announcement has gone. You know the 'welcome to the VBulletin community etc' banner.

How can I get this back and is there any way of editing it?

This is almost certainly a problem with a customized template. Try this. Create a new style and choose no parent style. This will force it to use the default templates. Then change to this style and view your forums with it. Do you have the same problem?

If you do, empty your browser cache, close all browser windows and try again.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

Cracked it thanks Steve. Apparently it's not visible when I'm logged in as Admin - once I've logged out it comes back.

Is it possible to edit this message and the 'welcome banner'?

Comment

I'm not aware of a 'welcome banner' in vB, but all language is in Phrases. Do a 'Search in Phrases' for the specific language you are looking for, then edit the appropriate Phrase.

Admin CP -> Languages & Phrases -> Search in Phrases

Note: To edit a phrase, place the new phrase in the available language text boxes.
        Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
        Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

The welcome message is only shown to guests. If you want to change this then you will need to remove the conditional around it in the forumhome template.
          Kerry-Anne :)

Twitter Blog