Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet Another Thread About Inability To Upload Files

Hi

Read many hours through forums regarding problems respecting being unable to upload files (pictures for example into profiles) and getting similar errors that so many others have experienced.

Running vb 3.6.5 on a server with PHP running in safe mode.

Followed many suggested workaround/solutions to no avail with one exception and that was to go into admin/vb option/server settings and change the value of safe mode from yes to no and then was able to upload a picture at last.

You would think given the many people who experience this problem. apparrent from the many posting on thia topic, that VB technical staff would provide a comprehensive listings of answers to this issue allowing installers to go though a check list to and find an answer to which is basically a simple problem.

I am no expert respecting PHP hence I bought VB in preference to other FREE scripts as I felt that VB is safer, stable and very secure, and last but not least the support and forums here would assist me in a smooth install and setup.

I am a little concerned that I am only able to upload pictures by giving the script mis-information regarding the PHP safe mode as NO when in fact my server is definitly in safe mode ON, as a newbie one suspects that there is in fact a problem with the script. Is this solution a safe solution ?

I want to ask also where is the folder /tmp ? As I was unable to locate it to chmod it to 777. I already chmod class_upload.php to 777

I created a /tmp folder chmod it to 777 and put it in the main forum directory as I was unsure where to actually place it, putting it in the main directory of the forums directory never worked for me as a solution.

The only other issue regarding VB and pictures is the profile pictures:

Profile Picture 100 * 100 pixels and 64kb ...fine

Signature picture 500 * 100 pixels 2kb !!!! ...not fine