bring an old forum to a copy on our new site

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bring an old forum to a copy on our new site

We have an existing forum that we'd like to port over to a new website that we've made.
    I've already set up the new (upgraded to 3.6.4 from 3.6.3) vbulletin on the new site but I wouldn't be opposed to just bringing over the old forum first and then doing the upgrade since I'm having so much trouble trying to do it myself.

Please help, I've been working on this for the last 3 hours!

Bring the old forum to the new server, then upgrade.

Comment

Yes, that's what I'd like to do. What are the specific steps? I am new to this. Is there a tutorial somewhere?

Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by star J View Post
        Yes, that's what I'd like to do. What are the specific steps? I am new to this. Is there a tutorial somewhere?

Thanks
        the upgrade is pretty much click and go...if you don't have any style options or serious hacks installed it will perform the upgrade for you. The install.php looks for an existing VB install in the database - if it is there or sees that VB tables it WILL ask if you want to perform a UPGRADE

just go with the defaults and you should be fine - afterwards you can set styles for your users...

HTH

Comment

Yes, there is complete documentation in the vBulletin User Manual on how to move a vBulletin forum to a new server.

Comment

I am having a miserable time with this. I made a complete copy of the database and put it on the new server. Then I copied all the files and placed them on the new server. But I'm getting errors all over the place. Is there a specific file that I should look at? Perhaps one that might not transfer from one site to another. I already fixed config.php so that it has the appropriate information.