MySQL upgrade from 3.23.58 to 4.0.16 with Plesk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MySQL upgrade from 3.23.58 to 4.0.16 with Plesk

Hi, I am having trouble upgrading to 3.6 because my server is running MySQL 3.23.58 and I haven't been able to figure out how to upgrade. I think there could be quite a few people who may have similar setup with my server (It's just a run-of-the-mill server from a popular web hosting provider with less than a year in service), so I'm starting this thread.

Here's a summary of my setup which I think are relevant.. I'm not a total newbie, but close to one. :

Dedicated Pentium4 server running Fedora Core 3
    MySQL 3.23.58
    PHP 4.3.11
    Plesk 7.5.4

I have installed ImageMagick 6 and GD2 on the server and other than that, I don't think I've tinkered with the server.

I've been trying to upgrade during the past few hours, and here are questions I now have:

My main objective is to get vBulletin 3.6 up and running as soon as possible with as little hassle as possible. So far, I have backed up the database and uploaded all the files. When I go to /includes/upgrade.php, it gives me a message saying I should upgrad MySQL.

1) I looked at Spry article on upgrading MySQL with Plesk

2) I'm trying to follow their guide, but I haven't figured out which version of MySQL to download from Dev.MySql.com

3) Am I supposed to download "Statically Linked" version for Linux or "Dynamically Linked" version?

4) Also, I have checked out Plesk FAQ page and they don't seem to have much information on upgrading MySQL

5) Some of the threads have pointed me to Atomic Rocket Turtle website complementing how stable their RPMs are. So far, I haven't even been able to figure out how to locate MySQL RPM on this website, let alone how to install anything from the website.