Need some database help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some database help!

I'm very new to MySQL databases, in fact I've never actually done anything with them except set one up for my forum.

Firstly I'll tell you what I'm trying to do. I want to set up a new board on a new database on the same hosting account. And yes i have enough databases and disk space to do so. And i want to transfer (if that's the right word?) the database, or perhaps the information in the old database to the new one so that the new board has all the members, posts etc. from the old board.

Also i have hacks on the old version of the board. Some i want to keep and use on the new board, others i don't.

So could someone experienced please offer help, or even offer to do it for me?

Thanks to all that help in advance!

You could install a new copy of vB to a new database, then use Impex to import the old data to the new one. Please read the online Impex import instructions here:

http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/i...rsion=30501500

Also please view the 'After the Import' instructions here:

http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/i...rsion=30501500

Note: This *will* change all your existing user, post, thread and forum ID numbers.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

I had a quick read of the manual and found it quite hard to understand.

Should i install all skins and hacks etc. first before running the Impex?

Does it matter if i install different hacks from the one on my last board?

Comment

I would import first.

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

I get this message after going to Import > Import (in the AdminCP)