Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

having the forums page in a forums folder...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• having the forums page in a forums folder...

ok im very new to all this and just learning the terminology but here goes.

my domain takes you straight to what is my forums.

id like it to take a member to a homepage, from that homepage have a forums link to take you to the forums page.

from what i gather i have my Vb installed in the root index. and from what ive read id like to keep it that way but have the setup as above.

do i just create a forums folder with a link to it on the home page? is this right and how do i do it?

thanks.

Normally you would created a forum directory within your web root. Then copy all of your forum files to that directory. Change your forum URL and cookie settings appropriately (the default cookie settings will always work):

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Site Name / URL / Contact Details -> Forum URL

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Cookies and HTTP Header Options

Comment

Originally posted by Jake Bunce
      Normally you would created a forum directory within your web root. Then copy all of your forum files to that directory. Change your forum URL and cookie settings appropriately (the default cookie settings will always work):

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Site Name / URL / Contact Details -> Forum URL

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Cookies and HTTP Header Options
      web root = home page??

Comment

For example:

http://www.vbulletin.com/

That is the root of this site. The web root is the corresponding directory on your server.

Comment

For example:

http://www.vbulletin.com/

That is the root of this site. The web root is the corresponding directory on your server.
          ok thats what i was thinking.

so really i can go either way, have a root, home page, with a link to my forums page.

or i can just have my forums page as my root.

Comment