Possible To Change Path The Banner Points To?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • 92GreenGT
    Senior Member
    • Jan 2005
    • 132
    • 3.8.x

    Possible To Change Path The Banner Points To?

    When you click on the logo(Vbulletin logo up top like on this forum), it takes you to your index.php file. Is it possible to make that point somewhere else? I'm running VBA and when you click the banner it takes you back to the very front page, I want it to take me to my forum homepage which is the old index file renamed. Is this possible?
  • Floris
    Senior Member
    • Dec 2001
    • 37767

    #2
    The header template holds the code:
    Code:
    <td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
    As you can see the index php file that the forum uses is dynamic. If you change the original index.php to forums.php and update the vbulletin options to reflect this .. the template uses forums.php instead.

    Of course, you can change this a link in the template to whatever you want to use (hardcode it).

    Comment

    • 92GreenGT
      Senior Member
      • Jan 2005
      • 132
      • 3.8.x

      #3
      With VBAdvanced you rename the VB Index file to something else(forums in my case) and when I go to "Script Name for Forum Home Page" in the VB Options tab in my Admin CP, I have Index in there, is that whats causing the logo at the top of the page to point at the index.php file?

      I swear before when I had VBadvanced, if I clicked that logo it would go to the page im wanting, dont know why its changed now.

      Comment

      • 92GreenGT
        Senior Member
        • Jan 2005
        • 132
        • 3.8.x

        #4
        Ttt

        Comment

        • Ace
          Senior Member
          • Apr 2004
          • 4051
          • 4.2.X

          #5
          You will have to hardcode the specific page you want to go to in the piece of the header template that Floris mentions above.
          My Live vB5 Site - NZEating.com
          vBulletin Hosting | vBulletin Services - Need hosting for your vB? Need it installed? Something else? Let me take that hassle off your hands.

          Comment

          • 92GreenGT
            Senior Member
            • Jan 2005
            • 132
            • 3.8.x

            #6
            Ok, I see. I guess it will be some surrounding code and then a link to the page I want to go to? If so, what is the surrounding code needed?

            Comment

            • 92GreenGT
              Senior Member
              • Jan 2005
              • 132
              • 3.8.x

              #7
              Ttt

              Comment

              • Maxman1544
                Member
                • Jan 2006
                • 67
                • 3.6.x

                #8
                Originally posted by Floris
                The header template holds the code:
                Code:
                <td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
                As you can see the index php file that the forum uses is dynamic. If you change the original index.php to forums.php and update the vbulletin options to reflect this .. the template uses forums.php instead.

                Of course, you can change this a link in the template to whatever you want to use (hardcode it).
                Can you give an example of what the change would look like. i.e. show the syntax replacing [FORUMHOME] with a URL?

                Thanks!
                http://jetnation.com

                Comment

                • vbreal
                  Senior Member
                  • Jan 2006
                  • 141
                  • 3.5.x

                  #9
                  BEFORE
                  Code:
                  <td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="[COLOR=red]$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q][/COLOR]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
                  AFTHER
                  Code:
                  <td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="[COLOR=red]http://www.yoursite.com/forums/forum.php[/COLOR]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>

                  Comment

                  • 92GreenGT
                    Senior Member
                    • Jan 2005
                    • 132
                    • 3.8.x

                    #10
                    Thanks

                    Comment

                    • vbreal
                      Senior Member
                      • Jan 2006
                      • 141
                      • 3.5.x

                      #11
                      no prob

                      Comment

                      widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                      Working...
                      😀
                      😂
                      🥰
                      😘
                      🤢
                      😎
                      😞
                      😡
                      👍
                      👎