Sites Been Hacked Back to Back

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sites Been Hacked Back to Back

My server has recently been compromised back to back within a few days! The site is AlfaBB.com and we have 5,000+ members and about 30,000+ page views a day.

Recently the server had a root kit installed and it was wreaking havoc on all of the sites resources. At the time I was running 3.0.3 which I thought might have been my downfall with all of the Cross Site Scripting talk going on but I’m no expert. After the server got a clean OS (Linux) install I re-uploaded my site, DB, and updated to 3.5.3. Shortly after about 6 hours of turning the site back on (1/10/06) everyone including myself noticed very slow response times. I logged back into the server to see what’s up and sure enough the machine was infected again? Lots of scripts and apps running from the TMP directory. I had to have the box shut down it was so uncontrollable. I’m very paranoid at this point and was wondering if there is a possibility of some infection/bad code possibly in my DB that could be causing this?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by smestas; Tue 10 Jan '06, 4:50pm.

I would get a backup some days before they exploited the box, and restore that to a new database, update the config.php file to point to this database and then upgrade the forum to 3.5.3.

Then change all the staff passwords to new harder to guess ones and add .htaccess to the admincp/ and modcp/ directories. You can also change these 2 dirs to something unique (harder to guess) ones.

Of course, the htaccess user/pass combination must not be the same as the forums' one.

Additionally, request your hosting provider to change all their staff passwords too and give you a new unique rendered pass for your ftp, web host, phpmyadmin, email, etc.