Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 15 seconds exceeded...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 15 seconds exceeded...

As an admin I've occassionally come across this error when posting a new thread and now a user is also complaining about it...

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 15 seconds exceeded in /home/dans/www/herogame/forums/includes/class_core.php on line 2626

The actual number at the end seems to change from attempt to attempt, but the basic message stays the same.
    I usually resolved the issue by waiting a while or posting the thread in a different forum and then moving it. This only happens once in a while for me in one specific forum. It is now happening constantly in a different forum for the user that is complaining.

Is there anything to be done to fix this?

Thanks!

That's an extremely low setting (15). You or your host need to increase the max_execution_time setting in php.ini. This should be no less than 30, and 60 would be even better.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

Host here.

What queries/updates do you run (spawned by the users -- administrative functions may obviously take longer) which would take more than 15 seconds on a decent server?

Comment

I don't have a list of such queries. I do know that 15 seconds is exrtremely low (the PHP default is twice this) and the actual time is dependent on the server itself and how busy it is.

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment