Problem with Thread Subscriptions & Notifications

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with Thread Subscriptions & Notifications

Have some weird problems on vB3.0.4 that seem to be related. The following is happening:

1) Users are sometimes not receiving e-mail notifications.

2) Users attempting to subscribe to threads get the "You do not have permission to access this page" error.

2A) Users who are trying to view their thread subscriptions in the User CP are also getting the "no permission" error.

3) PM notifications ARE getting through OK.

4) As an admin, I can get to the thread subscription function just fine.

This appears to have happened in the past day or so, and I haven't been around to make any changes in the admin CP. In fact, I've even gone in and scanned through all of the settings in vB Options, Usergroup Manager, etc. that might affect it and didn't find any relevant settings.

Our members "speak":

http://www.stevehoffman.tv/forums/sh...ad.php?t=54819

Am I missing a setting here, or could there be some database corruption? Nothing has been changed in the admin CP, and we haven't had any db problems in about a week.

1. Make sure you have a valid webmaster's email address in your Admin CP settings and that there is only one address. Then try this:

Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> Server Settings and Optimization Options -> Enable "-f" Parameter -> Yes

Then try the vB email functions.

If it still doesn't work, then this is either a server and/or mailbox issue.

vB uses PHP's mail() function for all its email and uses the SMTP server specified in php.ini. If PHP and the mail server are configured correctly then email will work.

Since some email is working, you will need to view the mail logs on the server to see what happened to those emails that don't work. Once vB sends it to PHP it's in the hands of the server. If you are on a shared server you may need to ask your host to look through the logs for you.