Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I keep forms from overwriting existing data?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I keep forms from overwriting existing data?

I'm new to MySQL and vBulletin so if this has been answered before I apologize for asking this again. I didn't see any other posts on this so here goes...

I have a form on my site which my customers will be updating frequently. How can I allow them to update only one or two fields (or more) without overwriting all the other data?

I asked this on vBulletin.org but I'm not clear on the answer so when you reply could you be specific? For instance, if I have a field titled firstname that I don't want changed and a field named location I want to update with new information how would I write the code?

Thank you in advance,

FaShUnPhOtOg

Updating what fields exactly? It does sound like this requires modifying the code. We cannot officially support code modifications or forums running modified code, however can try searching or asking for help with this over at www.vbulletin.org.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

If you are talking about extra fields you want to store in each users profile, then you can do what you want with User Profile Fields.

If you only want the user to be able to enter the information at registration time, but not edit it afterwards, then simply set "Field Editable by User" to Only at Registration.
      Want to take your board beyond the standard vBulletin features?
      Visit the official Member to Member support site for vBulletin Modifications: www.vbulletin.org

Comment

Oops! Sorry...