phpbb2 to vB3 Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• phpbb2 to vB3 Question

Okay, first of all, hi! I'm a newbie here and after years and years of using phpbb, I am now a license holder for vB3! I totally do NOT hate phpbb, but it's just not as basically functional as vB3, so I took the financial plunge for the benefits here. So...

Here is my question, but first let me preface that I have used the search function and I have learned a lot about importing phpbb to vB3, but I haven't actually done it, yet. I wanted to ask this last question before I do, but I apologize in advance if this is not the appropriate place to ask:

I want to do a clean install of vB3, forcing all of my community to simply re-register and set up new profiles. I know that sucks, but my phpbb is so heavily modded that to do a transfer might be tricky (right?). So what I want to do after the clean install is simply import all of the posts, if possible. Is it possible to only import the posts (I'm not sure what the proper term would be)? Would there be complications because of references to who posted what, when there would not be a member database, yet?

I hope I am making some sense.

Thanks, in advance, everyone!

troy

You can import the posts (you will also need to import the forums), but they will not be tied to any accounts unless you import the users as well.

We recommend trying this out as a test first. I suggest ttrying the complete import. The worse case scenario is that you will need to start over. Please view the online instructions here:
    http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/impex

And please read the Importing HOWTO thread:
    http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=116398
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment