Conditional to identify user's location

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • John Campbell
    Senior Member
    • Nov 2004
    • 340

    Conditional to identify user's location

    I have a banner company that insists I can not use thier banners in forums. But I want to use the baner in memberfind or PM ect stuff like that... arcade...
    So how can I use a conditional?

    if user is on the forum use this banner...
    else this banner.

    HELP also...
    I need to know what locations are the forum.
    forum.php but are their more? like searching ect?
  • John Campbell
    Senior Member
    • Nov 2004
    • 340

    #2
    ok filddling around I found this works
    <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT!='private' and THIS_SCRIPT!='usercp'">
    banner stuff here...
    </if> So... how can I mod this to check if its a FORUM insted of usercp or private messages?

    Comment

    • Zachery
      Former vBulletin Support
      • Jul 2002
      • 59097

      #3
      A specific forum or any forum?

      btw THIS_SCRIPT != private AND THIS_SCRIPT !=usercp should always come back as true, as its impossible for it to be both the private.php and the usercp or profile.php

      you need to use and to check or an array

      Comment

      • John Campbell
        Senior Member
        • Nov 2004
        • 340

        #4
        Hummm thanks Zac you and Jack Bounce always help out...
        ok any forum. as long as its a forum dont show.

        But stuff like member find... PM Control panel Calendar all that stuff im cool with.
        Hey if you have the "names" for these locations please post them as well. This would be nice for specific things that may be set in the header or header include.

        This is getting really intresting!

        Comment

        • Zachery
          Former vBulletin Support
          • Jul 2002
          • 59097

          #5
          THIS_SCRIPT locations are usualy the name of the file minus .php.

          index.php = index
          showthread.php = showthread

          Comment

          • John Campbell
            Senior Member
            • Nov 2004
            • 340

            #6
            Originally posted by Zachery
            A specific forum or any forum?

            btw THIS_SCRIPT != private AND THIS_SCRIPT !=usercp should always come back as true, as its impossible for it to be both the private.php and the usercp or profile.php

            you need to use and to check or an array
            I see.. this command works by the name of the php script file correct? ok. the AND there would be stupid then.... I should have put OR

            Comment

            • John Campbell
              Senior Member
              • Nov 2004
              • 340

              #7
              Just to confim != means NOT and == means equals right?

              Thanks guys for the response in advance.

              Comment

              • Zachery
                Former vBulletin Support
                • Jul 2002
                • 59097

                #8
                "!=" Is NOT EQUAL TO
                "==" Is EQUAL TO

                Comment

                • John Campbell
                  Senior Member
                  • Nov 2004
                  • 340

                  #9
                  Zac I did this... <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT!='showthread'">
                  and it works when I am in showthread... how the heck is that...
                  If I am not mistaken it is saying if I am NOT in showthread do this correct?

                  Comment

                  • Zachery
                    Former vBulletin Support
                    • Jul 2002
                    • 59097

                    #10
                    try

                    <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != showthread">

                    Comment

                    • John Campbell
                      Senior Member
                      • Nov 2004
                      • 340

                      #11
                      **** New Question ****

                      How would this work for a spcific template????
                      for example...

                      <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != private"> takes you to one type...
                      BUT what if I want only certain HTML to show if you go here...
                      forums/private.php?do=newpm
                      how can I do a condition for the template?

                      Thank you for all the help so far.

                      Comment

                      • Jake Bunce
                        Senior Member
                        • Dec 2000
                        • 46598
                        • 3.6.x

                        #12
                        Originally posted by John Campbell
                        <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != private"> takes you to one type...
                        BUT what if I want only certain HTML to show if you go here...
                        forums/private.php?do=newpm
                        how can I do a condition for the template?
                        Where on that page do you want to show something? The template you need to edit depends on the exact location on the page.

                        Comment

                        • John Campbell
                          Senior Member
                          • Nov 2004
                          • 340

                          #13
                          No I dont want to edit the tempate. I am talking about a condition to tell me what template the user just loaded.

                          See private.php pulls a few differnt templates.
                          I have a 160 skyscraper banner that I want there only if they are reading not if they are writting. Thus I need how to do the if conditional.

                          Originally posted by Jake Bunce
                          Where on that page do you want to show something? The template you need to edit depends on the exact location on the page.

                          Comment

                          • John Campbell
                            Senior Member
                            • Nov 2004
                            • 340

                            #14
                            got the answer for anyone else that may need to know...

                            <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'private' AND $_REQUEST['do'] == 'newpm'">
                            conditional if the script loading is sending a new private message do this...

                            Comment

                            widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                            Working...
                            😀
                            😂
                            🥰
                            😘
                            🤢
                            😎
                            😞
                            😡
                            👍
                            👎