Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting a "FRESH" install without losing...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting a "FRESH" install without losing...

Hi all,

I have a couple questions. I have been running vb3 for about 8 months, and it seems that everytime I upgrade or need to change the look/theme of the site, or do any sort of major overhaul to the board, I install a clean version of the script, then have to throw the old database (With any template quirks from a previous theme/skin), then go back and try and remove all of the previous style/template variables that were added. It seems that over time, this is quite a task in itself.

What I'm wondering is this, the only thing about the board DB that I really care about are; threads, posts, and all user data. What I'm wanting to be able to do is this, I want to be able to "backup" only these portions of the database instead of it's entirety, then erase the pre-existing board, install a BRAND NEW script, then add the backedup posts/userdata back into the database.

The issue is that, I am not certain of all of the tables / database info that I will need to backup so that I don't lose any of it in the process.

It would be a nice feature to have where I can just run a script that strips everything back to default values, except for threads, posts and userdata.

If someone could provide me with a table list of ALL board "content and user info", I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

Why go though all that trouble just to upgrade?

The upgrade scripts upgrade the database just fine...

Comment

Originally posted by Zachery
      Why go though all that trouble just to upgrade?

The upgrade scripts upgrade the database just fine...
      You're right, what I'm trying to do is install a fresh vbulletin on a clean site (no files on it), and import my users / posts / threads, but I'm unsure which tables contain all of the necessary info for this process.