Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Deleting a Usergroup

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Deleting a Usergroup

    i've created too many usergroups and want to delete a few but i don't see a delete button anywhere in the usergroup manager. How do I delete a usergoup in VB3? thanks.

  • #2
    Admin Control Panel > Usergroups > Usergroup Manager > behind the usergroup you can click on 'delete' to remove a usergroup. Make sure you read whatever is listed to avoid problems, delete actions can't be undone!
    Please note that you can't delete a default usergroup, only custom ones.

    Comment


    • #3
      1. Move all members of that usergroup to another usergroup - AdminCP > Users > Prune/Move Users

      2. AdminCP > Usergroups > Usergroup Manager, select "Delete Usergroup" from the dropdown menu to the right of the Usergroup you wish to delete.
      The Admin Zone - Resources for Forum Administrators
      Articles - Forum Review
      Interviews:
      KierScottJerryAndreasSteveWayneJakeFlorisLogicianErwin
      Paul M

      Comment


      • #4
        i don't see a delete anywhere in the pulldown menu...

        Comment


        • #5
          all i have in the pulldown menu is:

          Edit Usergroup (id:7)
          Edit Promotions
          Show All Primary Users
          Show All additional Users
          View Reputation

          Comment


          • #6
            Then the usergroup is a default usergroup. You can only delete custom usergroups.

            Comment


            • #7
              i based most of my custom usergroups on default ones (using Create Usergroup Based off of Usergroup). so i can't delete them?

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by dbabaev
                i based most of my custom usergroups on default ones (using Create Usergroup Based off of Usergroup). so i can't delete them?
                The system does not allow you to delete the default usergroups. Any custom usergroup should be deletable simply by selecting the appropriate option in the dropdown list. This should appear irregardless of whether it is based off a default usergroup or not. The records are not tied to each other in any way.
                Translations provided by Google.

                Wayne Luke
                The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                vBulletin 5 API - Full / Mobile
                Vote for your favorite feature requests and the bugs you want to see fixed.

                Comment


                • #9
                  i am pretty sure it's a custom usergroup i want to delete. i created it and it has a custom name. Why don't I see a delet option next to it? any suggestions?

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by dbabaev
                    i am pretty sure it's a custom usergroup i want to delete. i created it and it has a custom name. Why don't I see a delet option next to it? any suggestions?
                    The option is in the drop down menu to the RIGHT of the usergroup name when viewing the list in the UserGroup Manager. If it is not there, you need to re-upload the default files for your version.
                    Translations provided by Google.

                    Wayne Luke
                    The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
                    vBulletin 5 API - Full / Mobile
                    Vote for your favorite feature requests and the bugs you want to see fixed.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by dbabaev
                      all i have in the pulldown menu is:

                      Edit Usergroup (id:7)
                      Edit Promotions
                      Show All Primary Users
                      Show All additional Users
                      View Reputation
                      Dude, this is your default Moderator Group (you can tell by the id: 7) - you must have renamed it. You can't delete it. At least there's no need to mess with your installation - this is expected behavior.
                      The Admin Zone - Resources for Forum Administrators
                      Articles - Forum Review
                      Interviews:
                      KierScottJerryAndreasSteveWayneJakeFlorisLogicianErwin
                      Paul M

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Sharp eyes there sandman!

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          thanks a lot guys wow you reply fast. i should come here more often

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            It is because I have my superman cape on!

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              LOL don't tell my boss about it. he'll make me wear it too

                              Comment

                              widgetinstance 262 (Related Topics) skipped due to lack of content & hide_module_if_empty option.
                              Working...
                              X