Is Upgrading For The Faint Of Heart?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Upgrading For The Faint Of Heart?

I finally got 1.1.5 working properly (only with the help of vBulletin support and my hosting company). Traffic / Participation is building and all is well. Do I dare throw a pebble in the pond??? I have no database or php experience, but I did load the vblite version successfully and on my own.

Should I leave this upgrade to the experts?

Will the upgrade automatically bring my templates and stuff with it?

Oh Gosh ... I want the new stuff but don't want anything that could possibly mean downtime.

Sounds like I need to pay to have this upgrade intalled huh?

Whatcha think?

Destee
    www.destee.com/forums
    Last edited by Destee; Fri 23 Feb '01, 8:10pm.
    destee.com

If you have no hacks or anything like that you will have no problem with the upgrade - but as always if you are not sure and can pay for it, pay for it just for your own piece of mind.

Comment

Destee, any and all changes to the styles/templates won't go with the upgrade. You'll have to reset your forum colors, images etc. You'll have to redo any changes you've done to the templates (albeit, the old ones will be there for you to look at.) It's taken several hours of work for us to get us back where we were before, but to just get the general stuff back, it only takes a bit. If you don't want to have your forums down for a couple of hours, I'd say don't upgrade. Stick with 1.1.5. If you have a couple of hours where you can reset your images and colors, go for it. The upgrade script itself is painless as long as you haven't added hacks into the code itself. (As a side note: go into your 1.1.5 control panel and write down the color codes in the styles section so you'll know what they are for 2.0)

Comment

Thank you Zecherieh and Susan ...