Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I move my entire forum to a new server?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I move my entire forum to a new server?

Hi,

I've read http://www.vbulletin.com/manual/movingservers.html where it explains what to do when moving to a new server.

If I understand correctly, the process explained in this manual only describes the move of the actual database and not the forum-software itself?

What exactly is the best way to move the database AND the actual software-files to a new server? Do I copy all the files and maps from my old server to my new server or do I have to upload them again from the purchased .zip file to the new server?

Thanx for explaining,
    Last edited by Grover; Thu 8 Jan '04, 12:40am.
    How much do you love XenForo?

Hi,

In Step Two - Transfer to new server in the manual Telnet is used to transfer the database. I am a newbie on Telnet and want to know if I could also use a FTP client to transfer the .sql database instead of doing it through telnet?

Thanks,

Comment

When I have to move a lot of data - as in moving a site from one server to another - I tarball the appropriate directories and do a server-to-server transfer. One the other end I un-tar the directory, change file ownership - group as necessary (use -R and all the files in the directory will be changed with the one command) and that's it. I tar the htdocs (user_html or however the server is set up) and cgi-bin directories.

Database Transfer:

I use telnet (ssh, actually) to dump the database (in this example named "forum"):

mysqldump --opt -c -p -q -v forum > forum_bup-040106am.sql

Then gzip the file: gzip -v forum_bup-040106am.sql

Then I ftp (for server to server transfers) or sftp (I usually use this if I want a copy here at home) to the server and transfer the file to the other server. Then I:

gunzip -v forum_bup-040103am.sql

and then:

mysql -p forum < forum_bup-040103am.sql