Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I need some advice about changing servers...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need some advice about changing servers...

Hello,

I am a novice at this... so please be gentile! haha

Ok.. I am planning to switch my website to a different host. In the process I am planning a new "look" for the site. Kind of a 2004 Edition/Revision. Also in the process I want to upgrade to the latest version of vbulletin and ADD vbPortal and PhotoPost PHP (or something similar) to my website.

Here is my question... 1st. Am I nuts?? LOL haha

I have already uploaded all the vbulletin softare and have a working forum on the new site. I have started to update the colors, templates, and so on, to make it look like I want it to look. Can I continue to update the look, then add the VbPortal and PhotoPost scripst and get them running THEN when everything is up and looks as though its running attempt to transfer over my Forums, Member Info, and the 80,000 posts from my "old" server??

I need some advice here on what I should do and when.... I am a quick learner but know very little about these systems. But I have had our site up and running for quite a while now and have installed the software on the new server without a hitch. But I have never attempted to transfer the files over to another server before... so I dont know whats involved! Any help would be appreciated!!!

Also... does Support @ vbulletin.com offer a service where I can pay to have everything transfered over for me? That way I know its done rite?

Thanks for your help!!
    I am sure I'll have more questions once you reply!
    Donnie

By the way... here are my forums so you can see...
    this is the old one: http://www.rumrunnerracing.com/feforums/
    this is the "new" one I just started (under construction): http://216.120.233.47/forums/
    Last edited by Donnie; Mon 17 Nov '03, 8:23am.