Server too Busy......

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Server too Busy......

Hi, I am very new to running a website.... A number of my members have been getting the Server too Busy message on my site... When they IM me to tell me about it (which they ALWAYS do, they are just so darn helpful ) , I log in to the admin cp to check the server load. Every once in a while I do have a high load 7-9, but normally it is pretty low 1-2... I am on shared server and am currently running vbulletin 2.3 final release. I was wondering if there could be a problem in my database or in the .php files that could cause this? I do have one hack installed (quick Reply box) which I completely uninstalled and was still having the same problem, so I went ahead and put it back (by popular demand) a few days later.... I have contacted my server numerous times about this problem and they told me to change my load limit settings to 8.00 ... I did that and it made no difference... I have since raised it to 15.00 (just in case) still no difference. I am now completely lost and exhausted from answering IM's about the Server being to Busy... If anyone has any suggestions... I'd really appreciate them. Please remember though that I am very new at this (but trying my best to learn)...

Thanks all,
    Kyle

Edited to say: The most people that I've ever had online at once was 13 (it's a very small board, less than 100 members)... I also tried to set my nix load limit to 0 and that made no difference either... simultaneous sessions is set at 29 (I've also zeroed this out with no effect)

www.thecozycornercafe.com
    My php version:4.3.1
    Apache version:1.3.27
    I'm not real sure about MYSQL ver. (Client API version 4.0.12 ? )
    Server operating system:linux

Thanks Again,
    Kyle
    Last edited by kyle0515; Sun 6 Apr '03, 3:50pm.

Just set the load limit to '0'.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)