Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• An uncharacteristically newbish question from me

Hey there everyone,
    I'm an experienced PHP programmer who is just starting to delve into vB hacking. I've been picking apart the code and understand almost everything there is, except for the template system. I understand it's function and why things happen, but not quite how they happen. For example, I've been trying fruitlessly for the last 20 minutes to write a simple header/footer page with no content, and it just doesn't make sense to me. I'm sure that I'm just reading too hard into the problem, but I'm just vexed by everything, and I was wondering if someone could give me a little Templates 101 lesson? If someone could even write up the aforementioned header/footer page I'm sure that I could figure it out.

I hate asking because it makes me sound so newbish, which I'm definately not (I'm actually the programming forum moderator at Somethingleet), but this is something that's just got me in a corner. I'm normally the one answering the questions, not asking them. I guess you've got to start somewhere!

Also, I posted this on vB.org in hope of a speedy response. If you frown on posting to both forums then just go ahead and delete this thread.

Thanks everyone for your help!
    Mystis

Use the forumhome template as a reference. Here is a template template :

Code:
    {htmldoctype}
    <html>
    <head>
    	<title>$bbtitle - Page Title</title>
    	$headinclude
    </head>
    <body>
    $header

$footer
    </body>
    </html>
    Content goes between the header and footer variables.

Comment

Alright, this is coming together at last! I almost feel sheepish for not getting this. I've got this in file.php
      PHP Code:
      <?php
      error_reporting
      (7);
      require(
      'global.php');
      eval(
      "dooutput(\"".gettemplate('templatename')."\");"); 
      ?>