Restoring from .sql file

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Restoring from .sql file

I have a backup file..... now I need to know how to restore from it...

thanx.....

Hi,

Do you have access to ssh on your server?

mysql -uyourname -pyourpass dbname < /path/to/dump.sql

Comment

no......don't think so

it is a plesk panel

Comment

Hi,

Yeah, Plesk is your control panel, but are you sure you do not have access to the server via telnet or ssh? If not, you might want to try phpMyAdmin or have your host install phpMyAdmin. I would suggest though that you see if you have ssh/telnet access. It saves headaches when trying to backup and restore databases. If you do not have this access, ask your host if you can have ssh access. It's more secure than telnet.

Comment

I have no idea about SSH or telnet..... but i do have phpMyAdmin

Is their a way through that.... I am new to databases, so any thing would be helpfull

Comment

Sure. It may or may not work though. It's really not the best way to accompish a database restore or dump.

But regardless, if you have phpmyadmin, you can create a database on your server, open up your sql file and copy the contents of the sql file into the query box in phpmyadmin. Hit submit query and cross your fingers.

Again, I really don't suggest this as a fix for not having ssh access to your server. You may want to do the suggestion I mentioned about contacting your host first and seeing what you do and do not have for access. If you do not have ssh access, you may opt to see if the host will set this up on your account.

Comment

http://www.vbulletin.com/manual/

There is a resource available to you from the support pages here at vBulletin. The above link is a manual for vBulletin. It's quite helpful as well.

Comment

my server doesn't allow SSH or Telnet for "security reason".
                so, phpMyAdmin is my only shot

Comment

Hi,