This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spontaneous Deletion

I am an admin for a board on my friend's site. My friend has not been paying his bill for the website lately.... all of a sudden, beginning this past Monday morning, certain tables in the db apparently disappeared spontaneously - that is according to the host.

my sysop says vbulletin does this sometimes.. it just says **** it and goes corrupt
    I was just wondering if anyone had ever heard of this, or my friend is getting fed a bunch of BS (I'm siding with the latter.)

Thanks.
    sigpic

No, there is no bug in vB that causes tables to disappear 'spontaneously'. Of course, it's very easy for a person with root access to remove the individual tables at will.
    Steve Machol, former vBulletin Customer Support Manager (and NOT retired!)
    Change CKEditor Colors to Match Style (for 4.1.4 and above)

Steve Machol Photography

Mankind is the only creature smart enough to know its own history, and dumb enough to ignore it.

Comment

Originally posted by Steve Machol
      Of course, it's very easy for a person with root access to remove the individual tables at will.
      Exactly my concern.
      sigpic

Comment

You may want to upload getanewhost.php and paythebill.php to your /admin directory

Comment

I'll upload yourebeingservedwithalawsuitfordestructionofprivateproperty.php

rofl...
          sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by Seawolf
            I'll upload yourebeingservedwithalawsuitfordestructionofprivateproperty.php

rofl...
            If you read tos.php you'll see they probably reserved the right to do as they did.

Comment

Well, the host fails to close the entire account as stated in the TOS, he only damaged these files. Access to the server is still possible, so the account is not closed.

So basically, the host violated their TOS. They only reserved the right to close the account AND delete, not OR.
              sigpic

Comment