Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Upgrade Successful! Plus Questions...

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Kier
    replied
    Avatars as files is standard for vB3, but it's never been an official part of vB2.

    Leaving the setting there won't affect you at all if the files haven't been re-hacked.

    Leave a comment:


  • TooHectic
    replied
    Oh... so it's NOT a standard feature now? I though it became a standard feature a few revisions back after 2.0 final. At least I remember it was on the "to be added" list.

    Ok... well I'll just leave it as it is. I don't think I need the avatars as files option. That should be ok right?

    Leave a comment:


  • Kier
    replied
    Oh, and yes to 2)

    Leave a comment:


  • Kier
    replied
    The custom avatars as files hack will be disabled if you have upgraded your board. You will need to re-hack the PHP files using the instructions here:
    http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...threadid=11760

    Leave a comment:


  • TooHectic
    started a topic Upgrade Successful! Plus Questions...

    Upgrade Successful! Plus Questions...

    Well..... my upgrade from 2.0b5 to 2.2.2 went forward without a hitch. Easy as pie! Now that's what I call quality!

    Anyway, I have a few questions......

    1) When I had 2.0b5, I installed the "custom avatars as files" hack. Now after the upgrade, I noticed that 2.2.2's control panel had an option for "save custom avatars as files". When this is set to yes, does vB still use the avatar.php script to load avatars? What I mean is.... when I look at the url for a users custom avatar, I see something like http://www.host.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=7&dateline=0 whereas before, I saw a url like http://www.yourhost.com/forums/custom_avatar/avatar123.gif. Very similar to a default avatar, where it doesn't call the avatar.php script. Is this right? When you have "save custom avatars as files" set to "yes", should it call the avatar.php script?

    2) When I had 2.0b5, my moderators banned a handful of users. 2.0b5 would create a new user group titled "Banned by Moderator" for each user that was banned. So if I had 12 users that were banned, I had 12 separate "Banned by Moderator" user groups. After the upgrade, I still have 12 or so of those groups.... Can I just move all of these users into one of those groups? I'm guessing so, but I just wanted to make sure. Also, that was a bug right? I'm assuming that it shouldn't create multiple Banned groups, and that it was fixed in later versions.

    Welp... that's all my questions for now.

    Thanks for making such a quality product!

Related Topics

Collapse

Working...
X