Database connectivity

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Database connectivity

Hello. I just got vbulletin, I have never tried to install anything like this before. I get to the step to check for database connectivity and it just gives errors, along the lines of
    'Warning: Host '157.238.46.18' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server in /home/norscotf/public_html/forum/admin/db_mysql.php on line 40'
    and
    'The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please go back to the last step and ensure that you have entered all your login details correctly'. I have an account with venturesonline. Please could you help me? Thanks, Simon.
    Last edited by milhaus; Wed 12th Sep '01, 5:24am.
    My forum: www.norscotfs.com/forum

Right, I got through the first bit, I had changed something in the config.php file that I shouldn't have. But now it says that a MySql Database already exists, which it doesn't. If I press 'next' at this point, it says it is creating tables etc, then at the bottom it says:

'The script reported errors in the installation of the tables. Only continue if you are sure that they are not serious.

The errors were:

Error number: 1046

Error description: No Database Selected'
    Last edited by milhaus; Wed 12th Sep '01, 6:10am.

Comment

Do you have access to the database with phpmyadmin or similar? If so, go check whether the databse and tables for vBulletin created. I guess you didn't setup any forums and users yet so you may just drop the tables and let the script create new ones.
      Ueli

Comment

Its Cpanel3 that I have. It says MySql Databases: 0. When I go into php myadmin, it says 'Wrong username/password. Access denied. (Do you have any databases setup?)'. Any ideas? And thanks for the quick response.

Comment