[Release] MD5 Encrypted Passwords

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Release] MD5 Encrypted Passwords

Being an old-fashioned sysadmin, I feel better in the mornings if I cannot view my user's passwords.

After installing vBulletin, I was disturbed to find that passwords were stored in cleartext. So, I made a couple of modifications, to ensure that only MD5 encrypted passwords were stored in the database.

I didn't think much of it at the time, I was sure someone had released a hack already. When browsing the VB forums, however, I found that a lot of people wanted a solution like mine.

The main issue of concern seemed to be "But now the lost-password function won't work!"

I put in place a random, "pronounceable password generator" I found on PHPBuilder. When a user "loses" their password, a new, random password is generated and emailed to them, and the MD5 encrypted version is saved into the database.

I chose MD5 because I'm fond of the concept of "one-way" encryption.

Now, no admin can see a member's password. :-)

Enjoy!

(Instructions, and a database-update script are included in the .zip file at http://www.coffeeintherain.com/scripts/md5_hack.zip )
    CoffeeMugDude
    Last edited by CoffeeMugDude; Sun 29 Jul '01, 10:38am.

Though I have not installed it yet, just looking through the code and the installation instructions, it appears to be very well done!

You are a class act CoffeeMugDude.

Thank you!

-t
    thewitt
    Last edited by thewitt; Sun 29 Jul '01, 10:54am.
    Tim Hewitt
    myOstrich Internet - Domain Management & Internet Services
    myOstrich Golf - When it comes to golf, we don't have our heads in the sand.

Comment

Oops

Oops, I thought I had posted this in the VB2 hacks forum

BTW, thanks thewitt!

Comment

Hi there,

yes, looks really clean & nice - very impressive!
        Will install it asap the next days,

Thanks a bunch!
        -Tom
        www.MCSEboard.de