Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question for those that run Vbulletin on their own server.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for those that run Vbulletin on their own server.

I have a server running Win2000 with IIs. I have installed PHP and SQL and vbulletin seems to run ok. Im have e-mailing problems where I get a error everytime it tries to send a e-mail. Im guessing its a configuration error on the server. SMTP is running, but we use a relay to send mail. We also have 2 HD's, one with PHP on it and the other has the vbulletin software. Could this be a issue?

Thanks
    Jason

Jason,

This sounds like a PHP settings issue.

Refer to this thread:
    http://161.58.84.213/forum/showthrea...threadid=19579

John
    John Percival

Artificial intelligence usually beats real stupidity ;)

Comment

Followup to Jason

I am the admin for the box that Jason is referring to. I'm not a PHP expert, but have looked at the .ini file. In in there is an entry for the SMTP host, which we have set to localhost. We also tried the mailserver of our co-location provider - mail.protronics.com and neither entry worked. SMTP is running on the server, but it doesn't need to be if we use the other mailserver, all it's doing is relaying. With UBB, we had it set to mail.protronics.com with SMTP turned off on our server and it works fine.

I don't think having the vBulletin on D: and PHP on C: would cause any problems Jason. I think there's a config problem with PHP that I don't know about. Is there anywhere online that gives tips for PHP configuration on Win2K for vB?

Oh, and Jason's right. vB support is lacking in some ways. For instance, where is there a tutorial for template editing? There SHOULD be a user manual that describes what every variable does in your template. The trial and error method is very time consuming. Maybe there is such a doc online, but neither Jason or myself know about it.