Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sessions problem

OK, I installed RC3 a week ago.

Today I went into the forums (I'm admin there) and I was surprised that the admin section was gone. One quick glance at the top of the page explained why - I was logged in as another user.

Now, I never used that user name or login nor have I ever changed any details outside the Admin interface.

Now, since I'm an admin, this didn't hurt. But what if a vicious user logs in as admin?

The bug is reproducible on my system. Even if I click 'logout' and then the link again from my favorites, I'm logged in as this user.

Anyone? Someone? Bueller?

Are you using cookies or sessionhash on your forums?
    Rob

Comment

No cookies.

How do I know is sessionhash is active?

Comment

Because if you have selected not to use cookies on your forums, then you're using sessionhash. There are threads all over these Forums about the use of sessionhash over cookies etc. Under Edit Options in your Member Control Panel it states under "use cookies to browse boards":

Clicking yes will use cookies to keep your id for this session. Clicking no will send it through the links. (Selecting no may cause problems when sharing links with people behind the same proxy as you)

I believe that what I've read is the other person that appears to be logged in as you is viewing cached pages or something like that. I suggest you run a search for sessionhash and cookies threads here in the forums and review them to get a better understanding. I'm still foggy myself on how sessionhash works over cookies, and I have yet to find another forum software pkg. that operates in this manner.

Personally, I question the value of sessionhash over cookies and think it's more of a problem/hassle than it's worth, but that's also my "ignorant"/uneducated opinion speaking as well.
        Rob

Comment