Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to back out of an upgrade (ie 5.1.10 to 5.1.9)

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • How to back out of an upgrade (ie 5.1.10 to 5.1.9)

    Is there a method of procedure to downgrade from one version of 5.1 to a lesser version of same platform? In the event you're in the middle of an upgrade and it fails or you get errors, how to re-install the original version you started with? (understanding you cannot go back from 5.0 to 4.X or 3.X). I do know it requires using a db backup, assuming one has done that before they initiate an upgrade.

    I am not having the problem, but others have, and i see no documentation that explains the steps (if possible even).
    Last edited by NumNum; Mon 25 Jan '16, 8:19am.
    adktramping ~ my happy place.

    "Whoever said practice makes perfect was an idiot. Humans can't be perfect because we're not machines." ~ Sam Gardner.

    Vote for your favorite feature requests and the bugs you want to see fixed.

  • #2
    You can't. That's why it is very important to backup the database before upgrading.

    GIPHY for vB5 AutoLinker Auto-Create Flag Report Topic Social Icons in Postbit Clear Cache Cron DragDrop Upload Topic AJAX AutoUpdate Custom Avatars Selector Stop Links in Posts...and more!

    Comment


    • #3
      Assume they did a back up and have it. What is the steps? Delete the entire directory and start from scratch using the db backup?
      adktramping ~ my happy place.

      "Whoever said practice makes perfect was an idiot. Humans can't be perfect because we're not machines." ~ Sam Gardner.

      Vote for your favorite feature requests and the bugs you want to see fixed.

      Comment


      • #4
        Just overwrite files with the previous package and restore the database. I wouldn't recommend deleting the entire public_html directory, because files and images that were not part of the original package will be deleted. If you meant delete the install directory after overwriting files with the previous package, then the answer is yes. We need do that.
        Last edited by William Thomas Jr; Mon 25 Jan '16, 11:18am.

        Comment

        Related Topics

        Collapse

        Working...
        X