Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Username and Password shows in query string

Hi,
    We have an issue where the username and unencrypted password show in the query string after the user logs in, e.g.
    ?username=Locky&password=actual-password
    I've searched around but not found any answer to this yet. Can we encrypt the password?
    I'm a web developer working at Ninja Kiwi games!
    Ninja Kiwi

Also if we can encrypt it is there a way to get all users to reset their password on next login?
    Ninja Kiwi

Comment

A user on my forum has seen this as well, at least twice, most recently, last week, but we've been unable to reproduce.

He was using
      • Chrome 84.0.4147.105
      • 10.13.6 (OSX)
      • MacBook Air
      • VBulletin 5.6.2 PL 1
      • Standard, top of the page, Forum log in
      • Not using password manager.
      • Reported log-in was slow. Had slow connection of under 5 Mbps and "almost non-existent upload speeds" at the time.
      • Query string with username and password appeared in address bar when log in completed.
      AFAIK, it's not possible to log via URL query string. Forum configured per my Sig.
      VB 5.6.4
      PHP 7.4
      MySQL 5.7.24

Comment

The software shouldn't use a query string for login. It may be a fallback if the AJAX login fails. JavaScript is required to use vBulletin. Blocking any Javascript at the client level can lead to weird behavior.

To encrypt your site, you should be using a proper security certificate and HTTPS.
        Translations provided by Google.

Wayne Luke
        The Rabid Badger - a vBulletin Cloud demonstration site.
        vBulletin 5 API

Comment

• OrganForum
          OrganForum commented
          Editing a comment